London Ontario Canada

June 16, 2011

Did you see the game? It was a riot!

Filed under: Hockey — Tags: , , , , , , — thatguyinlondon @ 9:41 am

The 2010/11 Stanley Cup Playoff Season has come to an end. Congratulations to Boston. I am a Leafs fan.  I  “never miss a game”. Once the Leafs are out I cheer the East. I have a wonky philosophy that if the East wins, the Leafs could have won if they made the playoffs. My overall view is any given team can win any given series. The only thing I am really sure of is that one team will win. My most favorite moments of the Stanley Cup final game is the hoisting of the cup. Man, those are some happy lads.

The riot.

Let me go on record by saying it was indeed a terrible, tragic thing. Not a single soul, including perpetrators, are feeling good about it.

Unfortunately, it was inevitable. It is not Vancouver’s fault. It was the crowd. You put that many people together, add alcohol, add a contentious issue and presto, you have a riot. In this case the issue was a game and win or lose pockets of riots were going to happen. That was a really big crowd, so the odds were up.

I was in Toronto in ’92 when the Jays won the World Series. As soon as the game ended we headed out to Younge Street near the Eaton’s Center (right downtown). They said the crowd went as far as Bloor. Looking north you could see the crowd thick going up the hill. At one point we found ourselves in the middle of the throng. I had little control on what direction I went. I HAD to move with the crowd. We slowly worked our way west and it took a few blocks to escape as far as the sidewalk. If the shit hit the fan, I would have been in the middle of it. I do not recall if there was a riot, but you can be sure there was violence. In that crowd people were also carrying signs for or against the Separation Referendum. There was plenty of fuel for a number of fires.

This could have happened anywhere. It has. We cannot blame Vancouver. Every crowd, everywhere is going to have pockets of assholes. In the future, when condemning the riots, say “rioters” not “Vancouver”.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

