London Ontario Canada

May 8, 2011

Bend Over London, Here It Comes

Filed under: City Hall — Tags: , , , , , , , — thatguyinlondon @ 11:11 am

http://www.lfpress.com/news/london/2011/05/06/18115121.html?sms_ss=twitter&at_xt=4dc59f8474264a95,0

I told myself to never write angry. It is sound advice but I feel if I wait until I am not angry about this, I’ll never write.

We have all read about Mayor Joe’s big-ticket dreams. A new $100 million City Hall. A $100 million 401 project. And who knows what else he is dreaming up to put his stamp on London. Of course when those amounts are bandied about any thinking person will ask, where is the money coming from? Well, if Mr. Maloney is correct, it is coming from the people who can afford it the least.

Take from the poor and give to the rich. That’s compassion all right. Did I read somewhere London was up for a Compassion Award? That made me lol, then this. I’ll certainly be sending this article to whoever is in charge of that award. Compassion? What is compassionate about screwing over the people most in need. Who does Joe think he is? Harper? Next thing you know he’ll be wanting jets and jails. Is this how he is going to suck up after trying to trash the Conservatives pre-election? http://canadians4compassion.org/campaignupdates/news:11 Okay, so it’s not an award and I had it all wrong, but the point remains that as far as I can see London is far from compassionate.

Sorry….I can’t do this. I can’t write about this. I get sick to my stomach. I read the Core Reaction and see people commenting on how to improve London. Improve it for who? Once more people are put out on the street, literally, then what becomes of them? Keep an eye on the suicide rate, Joe. I suspect it will increase. The headlines will read: Another Homeless Person Found Dead: Good Riddance.

Go ahead and read the article. Share your comments. Maybe I can talk about this in bits and pieces without feeling like I just got kicked in the balls. I wasn’t an AM fan, but then again I wasn’t really paying attention then. In my opinion, if it wasn’t for Tim Best, she’d be sitting in that chair right now. You got lucky Joe. Enjoy your one term, if it lasts that long. I’d sure like to see the results of a city-wide vote of confidence, if we the people had that option.

Let me toss this one in here too http://www.lfpress.com/news/whoslondon/2011/05/06/18114726.html.

Look at the average incomes. I’d like to see the high and low that made those averages. It makes it look like all Londoners are living comfortably. I guess that is only the Londoners City Hall cares about. There should be another category: Percent of population nobody gives a rat’s ass about.

(this is the first article I went back and edited. Because I wrote any I got some things screwed up. It likely still screwed, but there you have it.)

4 Comments »

  1. NP – your perspective is far more interesting than a lot of the tripe out there, and i appreciate that you also stick your neck out there with goofy ideas like the tv reno show. frig – i’d like a new office too because mine is “stuffy and has poor ventilation”. think maybe you can drum up some support for that??

    the problem with this city is that the “haves” don’t want to get their hands dirty in order to clean it up. they just throw money at it and hope it gets done or they wait for someone else to come up with the solutions. this city does not need a cosmetic facelift downtown or anywhere else until the underlying issues are dealt with. but we’ve been through all that so i won’t repeat myself except to say that the smug politicians and the heavy handed police are driving the people away, if not physically, then they are simply making them just not care enough to get involved.

    my assumption is that this information was gleaned from the last census, which was taken in 2006, correct? well look at what’s happened in the world since then for …’s sake. for some journalist to post 5 year old figures to show how well londoners are doing in 2011, “in a city of so many blessings” is completely irresponsible!! and i said, the census missed a lot of people like couch surfers…

    Comment by j — May 11, 2011 @ 2:19 am

  2. Hey J. thanks for writing. If it wasn’t for you (and the hit counter)I’d think I was just talking into the wind here. You scared the crap outta’ me when you started with saying you hate people who bastardize the English language. I thought I was in for it. I am so thankful for the spell and grammar check on WordPress. I admit, I am a lazy writer. Then again, I am not paid to write, don’t have a degree in journalism and am, after all, just an ordinary guy. Look at me, I am defending myself without cause.

    I don’t know where they got their stats either. I would imagine through income tax statements via the census.

    I know of that guy with the beard who walks up and down Adelaide all the time. I have seen him for years. During snowmagedon I bought him a $10 Timmies card so he could eat a bit and sit in the warmth having a coffee. I often think I should invite him in for a shower while I washed his clothes. Fresh clothes alone can make one feel a bit better. Dammit, I will.

    Was your FF a reference to the Twitter hashtag #FF? I don’t need a translation for WTF, but I must say that phrase passes through my mind whenever I read about Fontana in the press.

    Thanks again for your comments.

    Comment by thatguyinlondon — May 10, 2011 @ 8:14 am

  3. just an afterthought… Good thing that didn’t read “Attempts to reach Fontana Wednesday Thursday Friday were unsuccessful.”

    Comment by j — May 10, 2011 @ 6:36 am

  4. i’ll give this consideration, but first… you know what drives me absolutely nuts? people who bastardize the english language… (from one of your links)

    “Attempts to reach Fontana Friday were unsuccessful.”

    so i guess he has a new monicker. then we can abbreviate it as FF then. lol

    interesting stats for the city. who did they poll to get this info? the guy with the grey beard that walks up and down adelaide day in and day out? the cracked out hooker that passed out in the parking lot of the ring-a-wing on oxford a few years ago? how about the patrons of “the bus” that parks on richmond street on tuesdays and thursdays to handout coffee and sandwiches to the street kids who are hungry? did they check with the immigrants in the bee hive housing on kipps lane that are too afraid to open their doors because they might get shot and who probably wouldn’t fill out census forms because they thought that they had emmigrated to canada to get away from heavy handed government that watches their every move?

    i am suspiscious of any stats or surveys because if they REALLY showed a true “snapshot”, dewey/truman would not be quite the story is still is today. polls were created for news organizations and stats only reflect information that is collected, not the real stats that go unreported.

    Comment by j — May 10, 2011 @ 5:05 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

